KS3/KS4 Overview

Curriculum Structure
South Molton Community College  operates a two week timetable (A and B), with lessons split into five 60 minute sessions per day.

See our curriculum policy >

KS3 – Years Seven, Eight and Nine
All students follow a broad ranging curriculum which provides a firm foundation for their chosen Key Stage 4 options. As with all year groups, year 7 – 9 students are continually assessed throughout the Key Stage. Areas of study currently include Art, Design & Technology (D & T), Drama, English, Geography, History, Computing, Mathematics, Modern Languages (French and German), Music, Physical Education, Religious Education, Science and others.

At the end of Year 8 students will be asked to chose from a suite of D & T subjects and specialise in 3 of their choice.

Students will be taught French and German in year 7.  At the end of year 7 they will be asked to specialise in one of these languages.

Students also have the opportunity to take part in field trips, and alternative and extra – curricular activities throughout the year.

The grouping of students is the responsibility of each Head of Department. The general pattern is for students to be taught in mixed ability groups in most subjects. In English, Mathematics, Science, and Modern Languages, in some year groups students are taught in groups of similar ability (called sets).

It is hoped that Key Stage 3 will lay sufficient foundations for the students to choose a sensible, informed and suitable course of study for Years Ten and Eleven. Heads of Departments are always willing to discuss any point of philosophy or detail of the courses they offer.

KS4 – Years Ten and Eleven
Students in Key Stage 4 will continue to study subjects in the National Curriculum. These are: English, Mathematics, Science and Physical Education.  The majority will also have the opportunity to study up to four subjects.

see our Options page for a full list of subjects studied.

At the end of Key Stage 4 the majority of students will take public examinations for GCSE (General Certificate of Secondary Education)  in the subjects they study. There may also be a small number of students who will study for Entry Level Qualification in some subjects.