Mr Hedges

Exam Board : Edexcel/Pearson

The BTEC First Award in Construction consists of four units, three of which form the core units:
Unit 1: Construction Technology
Unit 2: Scientific and Mathematical Applications for Construction
Unit 3: Construction and Design

Students will then study a further unit which will be taken from the following:
Exploring Carpentry and Joinery Principles and Techniques,
Exploring Brickwork and Blockwork Principles and Techniques,
Exploring Plumbing Principles and Techniques
Exploring Electrical Principles and Techniques.

All students will study aspects of how buildings are designed and built, the structure of the construction industry and health and safety, as well as developing their skills in a practical unit.
Unit 1 will be externally assessed through a paper-based examination, whilst the other three units of work will internally assessed through classroom assignments.

Students should:
 note that a major part of this course will be classroom based;
 have a keen interest in construction and building design;
 enjoy practical activities;
 be able to interpret working drawings and have good observational skills;
 be willing to produce written assignments which are well researched;
 be capable of working to a deadline;
 want to move onto a related career or into further education to study construction.

The assessment approach of the BTEC Firsts in Construction allows for learners to receive feedback on their progress throughout the course as they provide evidence towards the grading criteria. Delivery strategies will reflect the nature of work within the Construction Industry, by encouraging learners to conduct research, and carry out assessment, in the workplace, or in simulated working conditions, wherever possible. Learners will be encouraged to take responsibility for their own learning and achievement